headboardI’ve always been pretty minimalistic when it comes to decorating my bedroom. All of my artwork usually ends up in the living room or other parts of the apartment, and by the time I get to the bedroom there’s nothing left. Now that I’m living with the lovely Ms. Em and Jess, my bedroom has become like a womb to me – a little cave in which I can retreat to to work on projects, watch movies, or just chill. We have 3 artists in the house, so the common areas are fairly well covered in arty goodness, but to my absolute joy, every wall in my bedroom is decorated floor-to-ceiling with all of my favorite things.

Every wall, that is, but one: the wall above my bed.

I’ve never had a headboard but I’ve always wanted one. I’ve gone back and forth about buying one, but it’s always seemed like a completely superfluous purchace, because really, no one needs a headboard, they’re just really pretty and to quote the Dude, they really bring a room together. I’ve finally come up with the perfect design that’s not only easy to make, it’s relatively cheap to do, which appeases the Frugal Monster in my head.

** NOTE: This headboard is a work-in-progress for me, so I don’t have completed pictures yet, but once I do I’ll post them up so you can see the finished product.

You Will Need:

– 5 rectangular artist’s canvases of the same size (I used 10″ x 60″ pieces – bigger is better)

** if you want to make your boards a custom size, make a frame out of 2×2 wood pieces and cover them with canvas.

– 5 colors of paint (more is better – you do not want to run out midway. For a 10″ x 60″ piece, I would get a quart of paint per color just to make sure I’ll have enough)

– picture hanging hardware (get this at any big box store in the hardware section)

Paint the canvases and let dry. I would recommend at least 2 or 3 coats to make sure your colors are really vibrant. Open up your hanging hardware and screw the eye bolts into the top 2 corners of each painting. Wrap the wire securely around the eye bolts, keeping the wire as taut as you can – when you hang these, you do not want to see the wire at the tops of the paintings. On the wall, measure out your nail holes. You’ll want to use 2 nails per canvas and you’ll want to leave about 2″ of horizontal space between the canvases, with about 12″ of space between the bottom of the bed and the bottom of the lowest canvas. For mine, I measured 13″ vertically and 36″ horizontally. Make sure everything is level or the end result will look lopsided. Hammer your nails and hang the canvases in the right order, and you’re done!

